Mission & Purpose


To ensure excellent & equitable education for all students through service and collaboration.


Washington has nine educational service districts (ESDs). They were created by the state legislature in 1969 to ensure equitable outcomes for all students. ESD 113 serves the school districts in Thurston, Mason, Lewis, Pacific and Grays Harbor counties by

  • Helping them provide high-quality, cost-effective services.
  • Helping them provide equal educational opportunities for all children.
  • Providing cooperative and information services to schools.
  • Acting as a liaison between the local schools and the Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction.
  • Providing local programs, as required by the state.


Close the Gap.

By 2020, students who come from low-income homes and vulnerable students within the ESD 113 service area will demonstrate educational attainment equal to their peers as measured by state assessment results and on-time high school graduation rates.

Grow Our People.

ESD 113 will proactively develop employees to support and fulfill the ESD Mission.

Influence Change.

ESD 113 consistently advocates for educational equity in our region and effectively communicates ESD solutions to address local needs.

Our Board

Mr. Don Rash, Chair
District 2
Adna, Boistfort, Centralia, Chehalis, Evaline, Napavine, Pe Ell, Winlock, and Rochester
Don was a principal in Chehalis and served ten years on the executive staff of the Association of Washington School Principals.
Mr. Allen Jones, Past Chair
District 7
North Thurston B and Tumwater
Allen, currently employed part-time as a school business consultant and university instructor, has an extensive background in education; particularly in the area of finance.
Mr. Rick Anthony
District 1
Morton, Mossyrock, Onalaska, Rainier, Tenino, Toledo, White Pass, and Yelm
Rick served as superintendent in White Pass and Pomeroy. He is a field marketing representative for the School Employees Credit Union of Washington.
Dr. Harry Carthum
District 6
Aberdeen, Cosmopolis, Hoquiam, North Beach, North River, Oakville, Ocosta, Quinault, Raymond, South Bend, Taholah, Willapa Valley, and Wishkah Valley
Harry is a former superintendent of Griffin School District.
Dr. Al Cohen
District 4
Griffin and Olympia
Al was superintendent in Olympia and is currently a consultant at the superintendent search firm McPherson and Jacobson, LLC.
Dr. Dale McDaniel
District 3
Elma, Grapeview, Hood Canal, Mary M. Knight, McCleary, Montesano, Pioneer, Satsop, Shelton, and Southside
Dale spent 45 years in public education. His doctoral degree specialized in at-risk students and programs that reduced truancy to increase graduation rates.
Mr. Bill Williams
District 5
North Thurston A
Bill is a retired Senior Assistant Attorney General, past president of WSSDA, and former executive director of the Washington State PTA.


Executive Team

  • Dr. Dana Anderson, Superintendent
  • Dr. Paula Akerlund, Interim Director, Early Learning
  • Mr. Calvin Brodie, Chief Financial Officer
  • Dr. Andrew Eyres, Asst. Supt., Teaching and Learning
  • Mr. Mike Hickman, Asst. Supt, Student Support
  • Ms. Kristen Jaudon, Director, Communications & Public Engagement
  • Ms. Sandy Nelson, Interim Director, Early Learning
  • Ms. Jodi Petrovich, Executive Director, Human Resources

Leadership Team

  • Abby Bowers
  • Andrew Eyres
  • Bob Pierce
  • Brandon Kahler
  • Brenda Griess
  • Cal Brodie
  • Cherrie Thomas
  • Dan Steward
  • Dana Anderson
  • Denise Wolff
  • Ed Otos
  • Erin Wick
  • Gerald Grubbs
  • Hannah Ameen
  • Jerri Hawthorne
  • Jessica Eyer
  • Jodi Petrovich
  • Joyce Tangen
  • Keley Brewster
  • Kelly Early
  • Kimberley Summers
  • Kristen Jaudon
  • Linda Masteller
  • Lynn Nelson
  • Mike Hickman
  • Pam Grigsby Jones
  • Roger Lange
  • Russell Rice
  • Shiloh Kauzlarich
  • Stacey Misener
  • Stacia Bolger
  • Stephanie Griffiths
  • Steve Bigelow
  • Todd Johnson
  • Tovi McClellan


Events Committee

The Events Committee plans and organizes activities to recognize the contributions of our employees. Our goal is to inject a spirit of fun into the workplace! The committee is made up of employees from across the ESD who meet monthly. To join us, check with your supervisor and contact Debbie Leonard, 360-464-6757.

Sustainability Committee

The Sustainability Committee promotes activities that meet today’s needs without compromising the planet's future generations. The committee is made up of employees from across the ESD. To join us, check with your supervisor and contact Annette Peterson, 360-464-6756.


Capital Region ESD 113 is funded by the state Legislature, federal and state grants, cooperatives, fees and other sources.

Money from the Legislature pays for about 25% of state-mandated services, like teacher certification, and district assistance for fiscal reporting requirements.

In 2015-16, Capital Region ESD 113 received $612,112 from the state. Through entrepreneurial activities, we were able to leverage that money into $31.4 million for services to students, families, and districts in our region. Put another way, Capital Region ESD 113 delivered $50.33 worth of services to our students, families, and districts for each dollar we received from the Legislature.